Welcome!

shapeimage_6I’m a chronically curious quantitative ecologist, working across a wide range of scales. I seek to understand the processes that link the physiology of individuals to the dynamics and evolution of populations, the structure and diversity of communities, and the function of global ecosystems. I combine mathematical, statistical, and experimental approaches to cultivate a mechanistic and predictive understanding of ecology. In pursuit of these goals, I have spent a lot of time studying phytoplankton, tiny plants inhabiting lakes and oceans.

Currently, I am a postdoctoral research fellow working with David Vasseur (Yale) and Jorge Sarmiento (Princeton). Specifically, I’m studying the eco-evolutionary responses of marine plankton to climate change. This involves using earth systems models (ESMs) to explore how the physiological and evolutionary properties of plankton species regulate global ecosystems.

I completed my PhD at Michigan State University’s lovely Kellogg Biological Station, with Christopher Klausmeier and Elena Litchman. During those years I studied how temporally variable environments influence the competition, ecology, and evolution of phytoplankton. While there, I became captivated by studying thermal adaptation, thanks to the influence of my friend and collaborator Mridul Thomas.

One of my favorite parts of science is exchanging ideas and collaborating – please contact me if you’re interested in my research, or have ideas or data you’d like to chat about!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.